Offering Hope and Encouragement in the Midst of Sorrow

                                  Stages of Grief

                 God's Perspective or Man's Perspective

A number of professionals who deal with death and dying issues, have relied on the guidance of Elizabeth Kubler-Ross. Roy Branson states, "Chaplains, pastors and Christian laypeople have joined other readers in hailing Dr. Kübler-Ross, not only as an obviously sensitive and compassionate psychiatrist, but also as a wise thinker on the subject of death. However,” he goes on to say, "some professionals are now challenging the concept that has established the core of her reputation -- her scheme of five stages of coping with death: denial, anger, bargaining, depression and acceptance." Professionals who do not share our spiritual views argue that there is no scientific data to confirm her conclusions. From an observation viewpoint, there is not enough to support her conclusions.

FOYCWW is in strong disagreement with Kubler-Ross not only because there is no scientific fact that supports her data, but because of her denial of who God is. Kubler-Ross' belief is that "We're all the same human beings. We all are born the same way. We all die the same way, basically. The experience of death and after death is all the same." This is contrary to Biblical teaching. We are all born the same--we are all born sinners, that is a correct fact! But the second statement that we all die the same is in direct contradiction to the Word of God. Those who choose to accept God's redemption through His death on the cross, believe in Him, and confess Him with their mouths, will be saved. Romans 10:9 NAS  "That if you confess with your mouth Jesus as  Lord, and believe in your heart that God raised Him from the dead, you will be saved." Those who reject the saving grace of Jesus Christ will not die a "believer’s death”. The words to the old hymn written by Edward Mote so long ago, clearly define our hope as believers.

                             "My hope is built on nothing less
                              Than Jesus’ blood and righteousness. 
                              I dare not trust the sweetest frame,
                              But wholly trust in Jesus’ Name."

                                      Psalms 13 (NAS). 

We will experience many different emotions through our grief. We have been given a textbook filled with information that we can with confidence use to provide us with guidelines for our grief—The Holy Bible, God’s Word. For those who mourn, start with the book of Psalms. There you will find "stages of grief." The Psalmist David begins his Psalm in desperation, crying out to the Lord for help. By the end of the Psalm he has found his hope, his strength, and his salvation. There too, you will find your hope. 

                      How long, O LORD? Will You forget me forever? 
                      How long will You hide Your face from me?
                      How long shall I take counsel in my soul,
                      Having sorrow in my heart all the day? 
                      Consider and answer me, O LORD my God;
                      Enlighten my eyes, or I will sleep the sleep of death,
                      And my enemy will say, "I have overcome him,"
                      And my adversaries will rejoice when I am shaken.
                      But I have trusted in Your lovingkindness;
                      My heart shall rejoice in Your salvation.
                      I will sing to the LORD,
                      Because He has dealt bountifully with me.